Versions of Urdu Language

Posted on 24. Feb, 2015 by in Uncategorized

Urdu language being one of the vastest languages of the world enjoys four basic versions or dialects. These include Dakhni, Rekhta, Modern Vernacular and Khariboli. Khariboli being the dialect of Delhi region is far different from the Dakhni dialect, which is spoken in the southern region of India. Dakhni is popularly known as Dakani, Deccani, Desia or Mirgan.

Dakhini is popularly spoken in many parts of India including Maharashtra, Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh and Tamil Nadu. Overall Urdu is being read, written and spoken in all parts of India and Pakistan. Most of the states in India even publish daily newspapers and other magazines in Urdu.

Dakhni dialect is known for its mixture with Marathi and Telugu Language in India. The base of Urdu lies in Arabic, Persian and Turkish. The native speakers of Urdu can easily be recognized from their accents, they enjoy a beautiful accent while their identity is the pronunciation of “kaf” and “Kh” sounds.

Urdu language deviation spoken in the territory of Pakistan: it becomes gradually more divergent from the Indian dialects and structure of Urdu, since it has engrossed many words, proverbs and phonetics from the regional languages like Pashto, Punjabi, Sindhi and Balochi. The pronunciation pattern of Urdu language also differs in Pakistan and the cadence and lilt are informal compared with corresponding Indian dialects.

Furthermore, Rekhta, the poetic version of Urdu, is mostly classified as a separate dialect. This dialect was famously used by several British Indian poets of high acclamation, in the immensity of their work. These included the great Mirza Ghalib, the enormous Mir Taqi Mir and mammoth Muhammad Iqbal, who is the national poet and philosopher of Pakistan.

Glossary of Urdu Terms in a Kitchen

Posted on 22. Feb, 2015 by in Uncategorized

This blog highlights various foods and ingredients in Urdu with their English translation:

aaloo =Potato
aata =Wheat flour
namak = salt
anardana=Dried pomegranate seeds
adrak =Ginger
bhindi =Ladyfinger/Okra
baigan =Eggplant
besin =Chick Pea Flour
bhagar =Temper
bund Gobi=Cabbage
channa =Chick pea
dhuniya =Coriander
daal =Lentil
daal cheeni =Cinnamon
Gobi =Cauliflower
gaihoN =Wheat
haldi =Turmeric
hari mirch =Green chili
hari piyaz =Spring onion
imli =Tamarind
illaichi =Cardamom
jaifal =Nutmeg
jaw =Barley
kaali mirch =Black pepper
kaddoo =Pumpkin
kaloNji =Onion seed
kalaiji =LiverLasun =Garlic
Laung =Clove
methi =Fenugreek
matar =Peas
maida =White flour
mooli =Radish
palak =Spinach
piyaz =Onion
podina =Mint
rayii =Mustard seed
sabuth Laal Mirch =Whole Red Chili
Saunf =Aniseed
Shaljam =Turnip
Savaiyan =Vermicelli
Sujji =Semolina
Shimla mirch =Bell Peppers/Capsicum
Tez path =Bayleaf
Torri =Zucchini
Zeera =Cumin Seeds


naan = bread
chapaatee = without oil round shaped bread
paratha = oily thick bread
rotee = bread
rotiyaan = breads
dahee = yougurt
chahe = tea
paani = water
paneer= chees
anda = egg
ande = eggs
murghii = chicken
gosht = meat
chaval = rice
biryaani = rice with souce of meat/beaf/chicken/potato and anything else
aaloo = potato
chota gosht = meat
bara gosht = beaf
salaad = salad
doodh = milk
aata = flour
makkhan= butter
shorbah = gravy
hara masalah = green vegetable
podeenah = mint
dhanyah = coriander
kabaab = cutlet
aam = mango
jamun = jambolana
maalta = orange
kela = banana
annan-naas = pineapple
tarbooz= watermelon
aaroo = peach
anaar = pomegranate
ganna= sugar cane
angoor = grapes
leemoon = lemon
melon = Kharbooz
papita = pawpaw
nashpati = pear
amrood = guava
sangtra = tangerine
injeer = figs
shareefa = custard apple
khajoor = dates
naariyal = coconut
naariyal paani = coconut juice
matar = peas
lady finger = bhindi / bhindiyaan’
gobii = cabbage
phaliyaan = beans
shimla mirch=capsicum
kheera = cucumber
torii = courgette
kaddu= gourd
TimaTar = tomato
shakkar = sugar
cheenii = sugar
pyaaz = onion
palak = spinach
karela= bitter gourd
gajar = carrot
kavvaa = bitter
meetha = sweet
mitayii = sweet
sharbat = juice
sabziyaan = vegitables


Iconic Landmark of Pakistan

Posted on 20. Feb, 2015 by in Uncategorized



Every country has some iconic landmarks that portray its history and culture. In Pakistan one of such iconic landmarks is the Minar-e-Pakistan (Minaret of Pakistan). It was built to commemorate the day when the Pakistan resolution was passed on March 23, 1940. The main tower of this memorial was completed on March 22, 1968. The location was originally known as Minto Park. It was here that the historic session of the All-India Muslim League was held on March 23, 1940. In 1960 the Muslim League leaders impressed upon the local authorities the need for building a memorial. The governor of West Pakistan, Akhtar Hussain, issued an appeal to the public for contributions for constructing the memorial. He also constituted a memorial committee and a memorial fund for collecting donations from philanthropists. Murat Khan, a Turkish architect, designed the memorial. The governor laid the foundation stone of the memorial on March 23, 1960. The tower took about eight years to complete, at an estimated cost of Rs. 500,000.

The tower rises above a platform shaped like a five-pointed star. On the marble slabs of the central shaft are inscribed a brief history of the Pakistan Resolution in English, Urdu and Bengali, the 99 names of God and poetic verses from Allama Iqbal. The design of the base and the first four platforms depict the history of the Pakistan Movement through architectural symbols. Rough stones and cement have been haphazardly laid representing the chaotic conditions and the lack of direction in the early stages of the freedom movement of the Indian Muslims. The stones used for the first platform are rough Taxila stones. Hammer-dressed stones are used on the second platform. On the third platform are laid chiseled stones, while the fourth and final platform is of highly polished marble, symbolizing the ultimate success of the freedom movement.