Hindi Language Blog

Yoga Posted by on Dec 25, 2010 in Hindi Language

In the couple of decades, Yoga has gained considerable wide spread popularity. Because of which more and more people become aware of it. Let’s find out more about Yoga, its origin and its popular forms.

Yoga (योग) is a Sanskrit term, which means union. It has been in practice since thousands of years from Ancient India.  It is not mere physical exercies as many people might think about, is an union between mind, body and spirit. To Hindu Sages and people who practice it, it is way to create and maintain a balance between mind, body and inner self. It works as a great stress buster and lead to a balanced & healthy lifestyle.

Yoga is mainly divided into eight types. All types of Yoga involve the use of different poses (Asanas), breathing exercises (Pranayams) and meditation.

Bhakti Yoga (भक्ति योग)

Bhakti(devotion) Yoga, as the name suggests is a devotional form of Yoga which is devoted to God. Those who practice this form of Yoga firmly believe in the existence of God. Bhakti Yoga can be practiced in a number of ways during physical poses (Asanas), such as praising the God by singing hymns, chanting slogans, listening to prayers and as such.

Hatha Yoga (हठ योग)

Hatha Yoga has a foundation in the 15th century in India and it was founded by Yogi Swatmarama.  The hatha word is made of ha and tha meaning sun (masculine, active) and moon(feminine, receptive), referring to combination of positive life force and negative life force. In western countries, Hatha Yoga form is indeed thought as Yoga, which is widely used for mental and physical health. It is a strong practice done for purification which makes body ready for practice of meditation. It involves the performance of physical postures (Asanas), breathing exercises (Pranayams), meditation, mudras and purification procedures known as ‘Shatkriyas’.

Jnana Yoga (ज्ञान योग)

Jnana(Knowledge) Yoga, this form of Yoga is concerned with knowledge.  Those person practice this form of Yoga aims to attains tranquility, control over his/her mind, sense, faith, and great ability for concentration. Those who practice Jnana Yoga remains single-minded in all situations and attains self-control.

Karma Yoga (कर्म योग)

Karma(Action) Yoga, which means union of action. This form of Yoga is concerned with the one’s actions (karma) and their effects. It is based on teaching of Bhagwat Gita, a sacred text in Hinduism. Karma yoga is the way of achieving perfection in action. The aim of a person who practice Karma Yoga, is to realize his/her action as per one’s duty (dharma) without personal self-centered desires, like or dislike.

Kundalini Yoga (कुण्डलिनी योग)

Kundalini Yoga aims at drawing and maintaining a balance of spiritual energy or life force (Kundalini), coiled at the base of the spine, which can be accessed through seven chakras (Wheels). The aim is to awaken seven chakras of spiritual energy which would lead to affects ones consciousness, develops intuition, increases self knowledge, and unleashes the unlimited creative potential that exists within every human being . This Yoga involves not just physical poses (Asanas) but also meditation and chants mantras in order to awaken each of the seven chakras of the body. The Asanas are coordinated with the hold of breath control.

Mantra Yoga (मंत्र योग)

Mantra Yoga, as the name suggests, makes use of mantras (sacred vernacular formulas) or seed sound to attain increase the concentration power. Since the mind wanders so much, the music of a mantra easily rescues the mind and brings it back to the object of one’s meditation. The mantras are chanted by the person in a thoughtful way, in order to attain certain goals. Mantra Yoga inproves one’s mental & physical health and helps eliminate a number of disorders, including psychosomatic ailments and the problems of anxiety, stress and tension. It boosts the person’s self-confidence as well.

Purna Yoga (पूर्णायोग)

Purna(Complete) Yoga, which is also known as Integral Yoga offers wisdom and techniques for the unison of the body, mind and soul. It emphasizes the Karma of your everyday life. It involves meditation,  breathing techniques (Pranayams) and the performance of alignment-based physical poses (Asanas) . Purna Yoga is an improvisation of the traditional systems of Yoga.

Raj Yoga (राजयोग)

Raj(Royal) Yoga, which is mainly concerned with mind. The mind has the control on the bodily action of physical body. The aim of those who practice Raja Yoga is to control the conscious and thus action through self discipline and it is the best way for the complete and holistic healing of one’s mind and soul. This type of Yoga helps a person to alleviates himself/herself from the emotional and mental conflicts.

Tags: , ,
Keep learning Hindi with us!

Build vocabulary, practice pronunciation, and more with Transparent Language Online. Available anytime, anywhere, on any device.

Try it Free Find it at your Library
Share this:
Pin it

About the Author: Nitin Kumar

Nitin Kumar is a native Hindi speaker from New Delhi, India. His education qualification include Masters in Robotics and Bachelors in Mechanical Engineering. Currently, he is working in the Research and Development in Robotics in Germany. He is avid language learner with varied level of proficiency in English, German, Spanish, and Japanese. He wish to learn French one day. His passion for languages motivated him to share his mother tongue, Hindi, and culture and traditions associated with its speakers. He has been working with Transparent Language since 2010 and has written over 430 blogs on various topics on Hindi language and India, its culture and traditions. He is also the Administrator for Hindi Facebook page which has a community of over 330,000 members.


  1. kundalini:

    Great post. I used to be checking continuously this blog and I’m inspired! Extremely useful information specifically the final section 🙂 I take care of such info much. I was looking for this certain info for a very long time. Thank you and good luck.